Syncing Users with a Data Source

How to sync your users database with a data source.

Using this feature, you can connect your data to a data source and store your users there as well.

💡
The users that already exist in your Softr app's Data section, will not be moved to a data source. Only the users created after connecting to a data source will be synced.

To be able to connect to Airtable, you need to have at least one data source connected. This can be done from your application’s Settings ⇒ Data Sources or directly from the Users Tab.

To start the setup, you need to hit the Connect to data source button as shown below.

Connect to data source
Connect to data source

Next, you need to select from one of your connected data source or link a new one.

Notion image

Let’s select an Airtable data source to demonstrate the process. The Google Sheets setup is similar.

In the following screen, we need to map the Mandatory fields and can connect the Optional ones as well.

💡
Please, make sure not to map to Formula, Lookup, or Rollup fields in Airtable.
Mapping Airtable fields
Mapping Airtable fields

The following fields are available for mapping:

  • Airtable Base (choose the base to which you want to connect)
  • Users Table (choose a table within the base)
  • Email Field (choose the field for storing the user's email)

Optional fields

  • Name Field (choose the field for storing the user's name)
  • Magic Link Field (choose the field for storing the user's magic link)
  • Avatar field (choose the field for storing user's avatar; instructions on setting up avatar can be found here)

After specifying these parameters, hit Save, and that's it. Now, any user added in your Softr app will be added to the specified Airtable base as well.

Connecting Airtable and adding a user
Connecting Airtable and adding a user
💡
Please, note that the Airtable sync is only from Softr to Airtable and not vice versa. Softr will still be your main users base, and Airtable will just serve as an additional storage that also allows adding new parameters to users.

Editing connection and deleting users

You can edit or remove the established connection at any time using the corresponding action in the Connection menu.

Connection menu
Connection menu

You can delete any of the existing users by selecting them from the database and hitting the Delete button.

Deleting users
Deleting users
💡
Please, note that deleting a user entry from your Softr app's Users section won't delete it in the connected Airtable base.
Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
🤩

Last updated on December 6, 2022