Track your work and go back to an earlier version of your app.
The App History section, which is located in your Softr App settings, provides you with a timeline of the changes that have been made to your app throughout its existence. It allows you to save your current "state" whenever needed to be able to go back and resume from that state at any time in the future. Just like in a shooter game. So, whenever you feel that your app has taken a wrong turn or, say, you've deleted some info by mistake, you can just click on one of the previous app versions and start over.
The versions are available through snapshots that are taken either automatically or manually. Let's take a closer look to better understand how this works.
Saving a snapshot
A snapshot is saved automatically as soon as you complete 10 actions inside your Softr app (e.g. add a new block, edit text in a block, save page settings). So, after every 10 actions, you'll have an autosaved snapshot stored in your app history. However, you can also manually create a snapshot at any point (see below).
As you can see, when taking a snapshot manually, you can also assign a custom name to it and edit it later on.
Restoring from a snapshot
Now let's see how you can restore a version of your Softr app from your snapshots. The process is pretty straightforward, and you just need to go to your App History, select one of the snapshots, and hit Restore.
Below, you can see how we restore a previous version of our app, and the Gallery block, which had been added later on, is no longer there.
That's all you need to know to be able to navigate through your App History and transition between different versions. Enjoy!
Last updated on December 6, 2022